Snickerdoodles for Brian!

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not a particular fan of snicker-doodles. I made these for my sister’s boyfriend, Brian, who loves them. Since my childhood I’ve been disappointed time and time again by these cookies. I’m always thinking “well maybe this time they will taste better”… and maybe then I’d convert. Never happened, thought I had hope. In theory they sound great: soft sugary cookies dusted in cinnamon. But there’s always been something off about the sugary aftertaste of snicker-doodles. I don’t know what it’s caused from, but I find it just awful.

And now that I’ve prefaced my cookies, let me just say that these were…. good! No weird after taste, very chewy and moist (I do adore under-baked cookies with a passion), and I’d probably make them again, but make sure to add in all the ingredients with the correct measurements. I don’t know what happened, but my cookies just kept on flattening out, no fluffy softness in site. I had to separate them with a spatula right out of the oven to prevent from having one giant pan cookie.

And the blog I got this from had GREAT pictures… The cookies were not too flat at all. So I know I must have screwed up somewhere. Maybe I didn’t chill the dough/pans long enough? I don’t know. But the flavor and texture were still awesome. If you like snicker-doodles, or never thought you would, I’d try these.

Snickerdoodles
Adapted from Brown Eyed Baker blog
Makes about 4 dozen

Ingredients:
2¾ cups flour
2 teaspoons cream of tartar
1 teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1½ cups sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon cinnamon

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper or a baking mat and put in refrigerator to chill.

2. Whisk together the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl. Set aside.

3. Cream together the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in the vanilla.

4. Gradually stir in the flour mixture, beating on low speed just until the flour is blended.

5. Chill the dough for at least 30 minutes.

6. In the meantime, mix together the sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl.

7. Scoop 1-inch balls of dough and roll in the cinnamon and sugar mixture to coat.

8. Place on chilled cookie sheet about 2 inches apart and bake for 10 minutes.

9. Chill the dough and cookie sheets between batches.

10. Let cookies set on baking sheet for 2-3 minutes and then remove to a cooling rack. Store cookies in an airtight container.

This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

