Honey-Soy Soba Noodles with Mushrooms and Carmelized Onions

In general I am not a fan of Asian-style food at all. Sushi is ok. But I think I’m more fond of soy sauce and wasabi in tandem than anything else about it. I do, however, enjoy a hot bowl of Vietnamese phở from time to time. And that’s about the extent of it.

But recently I discovered the enjoyment of buckwheat soba noodles and found this quick yet delicious recipe that even I couldn’t screw up. I changed a few things based on what I already had, as well as the ratio of noodles to vegetables. I used one bundle of soba noodles as opposed to two, because I loooove me some veggies, and only I would be eating it after all. This dish is salty, sweet, nutty, and healthy. I highly, highly recommend it. The leftovers for lunch the next day were great as well. I could have probably eatin’ it cold no problem.

Honey-Soy Soba Noodles with Mushrooms and Carmelized Onions (adapted from Kitchen Lab Blog)

1 bunch of soba noodles
1-2 Tbsp Sesame Oil (or whatever oil you have)
1 large onion (I used sweet), sliced
10oz of crimini mushrooms, sliced
1 clove minced garlic
2 or 3 shakes of white wine vinegar
2 tsp of clover honey
Soy sauce to taste, enough to cover noodles
Sesame seeds (optional)

Prepare soba noodles according to package. Drain and rinse with cold water to stop the cooking. Set aside.

Heat a few tablespoons of sesame oil in a large nonstick pan over medium-high heat.  Add onion to hot oil, and allow to cook about 4 mins. You can slice the mushrooms in the meantime, if they aren’t pre-sliced (I bought mine pre-sliced in a 10oz bag from Trader Joe’s).

Add mushrooms to the hot pan (adding more oil if needed), and then the minced garlic.  Cook until the onions are caramelized and mushrooms are nicely browned.  Add honey and a couple swigs of vinegar. Stir to combine and add noodles to the saucepan. Sprinkle with sesame seeds if desired, then drizzle with soy sauce, stirring to incorporate.  Fry until noodles are heated through and serve.

I got two servings out of this dish. Would be easy to double the recipe or cook up an extra bundle of soba noodles if you prefer a higher ratio to veggies.

This entry was posted in Asian Inspired, Main Course, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

