Cranberry and Raisin Spice Oatmeal

I am a huge fan of oatmeal. I pretty much have a bowl a morning, unless I’m running late and have to just grab a banana. I used to buy the instant oatmeal packets, but finally realized I could be saving some calories by controlling the sugar amount, while adding a lot of nutrition with custom mix-ins.

Typically I like to experiment with different spices, fruits, nuts, and purees in my oatmeal. I’ve tried bananas, raisins, and walnuts together; pumpkin, pumpkin spice, and dried cranberries; blueberries, almonds, and vanilla yogurt; even simple peanut butter and cinnamon. It’s all quite delicious. Oatmeal is probably one of the best breakfasts you could eat as long as it’s not loaded up with brown sugar and/or butter.

This recipe is one of my most recent, and now favorite ways to prepare oatmeal. I make one serving at a time, and use a microwave for heating, but you can of course make a larger batch on a stove-top if preferred.

Also, I never measure out what I put in, so I’m going to give you approximates for each ingredient. Of course everything can be to taste. Just make sure not to use too-little of the milk or else the oatmeal will become too thick and inevitably yucky.

I’m curious if anyone else loves making there own oatmeal, and if so, what are your favorite mix-ins? I’m always looking for new ideas!

~~~

Cranberry and Raisin Spice Oatmeal
Recipe by me

Ingredients:
1/2 – 3/4 cup of quick oats (depending on how hungry you are!)
1/8 cup of rasisins
1/8-1/4 cup frozen cranberries (you can substitute for dry, but they aren’t nearly as tasty
Unsweetened vanilla almond milk (enough to cover your bowl of oatmeal, I never measure)
1-2 tsp of cinnamon
1 tsp of vanilla extract
2 drizzles of sugar-free syrup (or real maple syrup if you’re feeling fancy)
1 Tbsp of roasted sunflower seeds

Directions:
Add dry oatmeal into a small bowl and add milk until oatmeal is just above covered. (If you’re using dried cranberries instead of frozen, add a little more milk) Incorporate cranberries and raisins, stir, then put back into microwave for about two minutes. (Always make sure to add dried fruit in first thing so they have time to absorb liquid, and become nice and plump!)

After the two minutes are done, remove bowl from microwave and add the syrup; stir. If the oatmeal looks on the verge of getting thick, just add some more milk or water.

Put bowl back into the microwave for another 1 – 1.5 minutes, or until it reaches your ideal consistency. Once it looks done, remove from microwave and add the vanilla and cinnamon. Mix these ingredients in, top with the sunflower seeds, and enjoy while it’s nice and warm. Yuuuuuuummy!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Vegan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

