Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies

 

This recipe reminds me of my go-to peanut butter cookie recipe, which only consists of 3 ingredients: 1 egg, 1c sugar, 1 c pb. It is so simple, quick, and easy for the tastiest of treats. I also like to add a Hershey’s Kiss on top of each cookie once they’re out of the oven. The only difference between my pb recipe, and this one, is that this one calls for baking soda and, of course, bacon. Both are fantastic, but I really think you try the bacon version. I brought my batch into work today, and while some people were too shocked by the bacon to try them, others raved about how good they were. None are left, and a handleful of coworkers even asked for the recipe. You’ll make friends, or at least cause a large discussion, if you share these with others, guaranteed. I hope you can handle the attention 🙂

Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies
From Joy the Baker

makes 15 cookies about the size of your palm

Ingredients:
1 cup all-natural chunky or smooth peanut butter (I used a mixture of smooth and chunky)
1 cup sugar (1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup granulated sugar)
1 egg
1 teaspoon baking soda
6-7 slices of bacon, cooked, cooled and diced

Directions:
In a skillet over medium high heat, fry up bacon until cooked through and let cool on paper towels until cool enough to dice. Dice up and set aside.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Grease a baking sheet with butter and set aside. In a mixer combine peanut butter and sugars until well combined, about 2 minutes.

Add egg and baking soda and mix for another 2 minutes. Fold in cooked bacon.

Roll into large walnut sized balls and create a cris-cross pattern with a fork. Bake for 10 minutes, until lightly browned. Cool on a baking sheet for five minutes before serving.

I’m thinking next time I make these (which will be soon, I’m sure!) I’ll try drizzling some melted chocolate over these babies, topped with a sprinkle of fleur de sel. Loving the salty-sweet factor.

This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

