Homemade Hummus with Parsley and Paprika

20110427-103128.jpg

Who knew hummus was so easy to make at home? It takes just a can or two of garbanzo beans with a few simple ingredients to process into a nice creamy dip or spread. I will never have to buy my own hummus from the grocery store again.

In future hummus-making, I’ll have to experiment with other spices, herbs, purees, etc, until I find the perfect taste. I hear it’s great with edamame, and I bet roasted red bell pepper would be great. Or how about jalepeno hummus?

I have been eating up my hummus for the past few days in sandwiches adorned with sliced cucumber, tomatoes, lettuce, and dijon mustard. A very fullfilling lunch. Hummus is also great for dipping pita bread or chips, or raw veggies. Give it a try. Let me know what you end up incorporating should you stray from the recipe I used, below.

Homemade Hummus with Parsley and Paprika
Recipe adapted from Espresso and Cream Blog

Ingredients:
2 (16-oz.) cans garbanzo beans (chick peas), rinsed and drained
2 Tbsp. milk
2 Tbsp. tahini sauce (aka: sesame paste – I found mine at Trader Joe’s)
1/2 cup Italian (flat-leaf) parsley
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. ground coriander
1/2 tsp. paprika
1/4 tsp. black pepper

Instructions:
Combine all the ingredients in the bowl of a food processor. Process until smooth, scraping down the sides of the bowl as necessary, about 2 to 3 minutes.

Refrigerate, covered, until ready to use.

Done!

20110427-103015.jpg

20110427-103107.jpg

This entry was posted in Appetizers and Snacks, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.