Chile Relleno Casserole

20110427-102223.jpg

This is a very quick, easy, and scrumptious Mexican-style meal. I’ve made it a couple of times now, and it’s so, so good! Perfect for those nights when you haven’t much time to make (and clean up after) dinner, but you want something that still tastes hearty and flavorful. Plus, it’s Mexican food! And who isn’t always in the mood for Mexican food? I hope you see my point.

Enjoy! – As I did the other night, and will again tonight, because I have tons-o’ leftovers…

Chile Relleno Casserole
Adapted from: For the Love of Cooking blog

3, 7 oz cans of whole green chiles
3 eggs
3 tbsp flour
3 tbsp non fat sour cream
1, 3.8 oz can of sliced black olives
1 cup of low fat Mexican blend cheese (I used a low-fat chipotle cheddar cheese)
1 can black beans, rinsed & drained (I used 1 can of fat-free refried black beans this time, but regular black beans are better!)
1 can red or green enchilada sauce (I prefer green, but used red just to try it)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine eggs, flour, sour cream, olives, salt and pepper to taste then mix thoroughly. Coat a baking dish with cooking spray. Add a layer of the chiles, and then egg mixture, then cheese, then black beans; repeat layers until gone. Top with enchilada sauce and a bit more cheese. Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes. Ta-da!

20110427-102719.jpg

This entry was posted in Main Course, Mexican, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.