Peanut Butter Blondies (Vegan)

20110505-024243.jpg

So on a whim the other day, I finally cracked and purchased this awesome vegan book: Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar by Isa Chandra Moskowitz. What can I say? I love my Amazon free two-day membership. But it’s dangerous. Anyways, I am absolutely planning to recreate every recipe from this book and blog about it. At some point. But probably not for a while since I live with a very unreliable oven. Whenever I make cookies I end up whipping up the dough at home, and then make a visit to my parent’s house to borrow their oven. It’s a good excuse to visit, and everyone gets to try some cookies after all is said and done. Win-win.

On to the blondies! Moist, gooey, peanut buttery goodness is what these babies bring. And they’re packing roasted sunflower seeds to boot.

I know, I know. But I didn’t have any peanuts on hand (not much of a fan), and sunflower seeds sounded so delightful. A shame I didn’t have any of those chocolate covered sunflower seeds they sell at Trader Joe’s. Now that would have been cute.

20110505-024327.jpg

Peanut Butter Blondies with Sunflower Seeds (Vegan)

Recipe from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar

Makes 16 blondies

Ingredients:

3/4 cup Peanut Butter, smooth or crunchy style
1/3 cup Canola Oil
1 cup Brown Sugar
1/4 cup Non-dairy Milk
1/2 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Baking Powder
1 cup All-purpose White Flour
1/3 Peanuts, oil-roasted (with salt)
2 tsp Vanilla Extract
 
Directions
Preheat oven to 350 F. Lightly grease an 8X8 baking pan
Mix peanut butter, oil, and sugar vigorously in mixing bowl with fork. Add vanilla & non-dairy milk (unsweetened vanilla almond milk ) and mix in.
Mix in flour, salt, and baking powder. You may knead it with your hands if it’s easier. It will hold together and not spread.
Place in pan and pat to fit evenly. Sprinkle with sunflower seeds (Mine were purchased roasted from Trader Joe’s. You mayroast your own, substitute with peanuts, or omit completelely) and press lightly into surface.
Bake for 22-25 minutes, only until edges begin to brown slightly.
Set on rack and let cool completely before attempting to cut and serve. They will be too gooey and fragile if you try to cut them right out of the oven. Be patient, they’re definitely worth the wait!
This entry was posted in Brownies, Vegan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment