Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Over Night Oats

 

20110524-090754.jpg

Lately I’ve been reading a lot about over-night oats (ONO) in the food blogosphere. Given my complete obsession for having oatmeal every morning for breakfast, I had to try the latest craze. Gotta say: Love ’em.

When I was a kid we used to always keep packets of instant Quaker oatmeal in the cupboard. For some reason I started eating them cold, as in: empty packet into bowl, add milk, stir, and consume. ONO are not like-comparable at all. I would not eat instant packets of oatmeal as I did in childhood ever again, trust me. OVO actually take the time to absorb most of the milk, and expand into a nice full bowl over night. They are nice and plump and creamy by the next morning. For some reason they taste sweeter just because they’re not hot. I don’t know what that’s all about, but it works for me.

Like regular oatmeal, the flavors and mix-in options are endless. Recently I fixed my oats with pureed pumpkin, molasses, and pumpkin pie spice. That was awesome. But so far I really enjoy the recipe below the best. It tastes just like an oatmeal raisin cookie without all the unhealthy ingredients.  

Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Over-Night Oats
Recipe by me (after reading many base recipes on other blogs)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup of oatmeal (not instant)
1 cup vanilla almond milk (or regular milk is fine)
1 tbsp chia seeds
1/4 cup non fat plain yogurt
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
Raisins

Mix-ins (When you’re ready to eat):

3 Tbsp sugar-free syrup (or real maple syrup would be tastier, of course)
Cinnamon
Toasted walnuts

Directions:

Mix all ingredients (except add-ins) together in a bowl, cover with lid or Saran wrap, and place in refridgerator over night (or for a couple of hours). When you’re ready to eat, sprinkle in any add-ins you may desire, and feel free to add more milk if you want your oats creamier. Eat chilled.

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment