BBQ Chicken Enchiladas

20110427-075648.jpg

How much do I love these enchiladas? I’ll tell ya, a lot. With so few ingredients and not much work (shredding chicken, mixing sauces, rolling up tortillas, and throwing in the oven?!), this is a perfect lazy night meal. I ate the leftovers for a few days, but mind you I am cooking for one, and brought the portions down on everything excluding the sauce and the onions : )

I don’t prepare meat often, but with Mexican food it’s always a must. I love shredded chicken. Though this dish really isn’t all that Mexicanny in the traditional sense. They are enchiladas with enchilada sauce, though. So kind of. I bet a side of sweet corn and/or an avocado salad would go great with these, too. Eat up!

BBQ Chicken Enchiladas
Recipe from Jessica at How Sweet It Is Blog

Makes 8 enchiladas

Ingredients:
8 large whole wheat tortillas (I used small, low-carb tortillas from Trader Joe’s)
3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cooked and shredded (I probably used a little less chicken, too)
28 ounce can red enchilada sauce
1/2 cup of your favorite BBQ sauce (I used green because it’s all I had, but it was still amazing!)
1/2 large sweet onion, sliced
1 tablespoon BBQ seasoning
pinch of cayenne pepper
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup shredded low-fat cheddar cheese
1 cup shredded colby jack cheese (I used 1/2 cup of low fat Mexican Cheese blend)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375.
In a large skillet, heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil on low-medium. Add sliced onions with a pinch of salt, and let caramelize until soft and golden – about 10 minutes. While onions are cooking, dump enchilada sauce into a bowl and whisk in your favorite BBQ sauce until combined.
Add shredded chicken to onions with BBQ seasoning and a pinch of cayenne pepper. Mix thoroughly. Pour in about a half of a cup of enchilada/BBQ sauce mixture, and add 1/2 cup cheddar cheese and 1/2 cup colby cheese. Stir until mixture comes together and turn off heat.
Pour a drizzle of enchilada/BBQ sauce in the bottom of a baking dish. Take each tortilla and fill it with 1/2 + of chicken mixture. Roll each up and set it in the baking dish. Dump remaining enchilada/BBQ sauce on top of tortillas and add remaining cheese. Bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes.

20110427-075758.jpg

This entry was posted in Main Course, Mexican and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment